Feeling amazing, getting stronger

Hi lovelies

I’m back with another blog post. I really need to get better at posting more often, I think the last post was around a month ago.

So an update on the past month. As you may know if you follow me on Twitter or read my blog, I signed up to a 12 week KSFL Transformation Programme. There are a group of us who meet once a week, and during that session we do a HIIT session led by the fabulous Nicki (who does all the classes I go to) and then afterwards we have a session where we talk about how we have been doing that week and there is also a focus topic where we are given more information on how the changes we are making are impacting on our bodies. We have covered hormones, sleep, stress, what to do if we have slip ups or we have planned for days where we are going off plan. I find these sessions are really helpful because we can ask any questions we have and get lots of ideas from others on foods they are eating.

img_7441

The HIIT session we do varies each week – but usually consists of burpees! Nicki loves them and thinks that we all love them. I’m saying it right here, right now… I HATE BURPEES! But I can’t deny that they are a good exercise to do. We have done sessions with weights, using the big exercise balls, just our own body weight and we do 50 secs of work and 10 secs rest for 6 exercises, then we get 10 secs rest, and start again with 6 different exercises, we then get 45 secs rest and we repeat twice more (with different exercises). We do a mixture of cardio and strength work and focus on arms, legs and core to get a whole body workout.  These sessions happen on a Thursday evening.

I am still trying to go to Step aerobics on either a Monday night or a Saturday morning (but that depends on whether I am going to watch Leicester Tigers or not on a Saturday). I also go to Kettlercise on a Tuesday night (which is possibly my favourite class of all). I feel like I am becoming much stronger and I am currently using an 8kg kettlebell. I may try a 10kg kettlebell very soon – I will keep you updated. I also do Pilates on a Wednesday night which is a lot tougher than it sounds! It always leaves me feeling really chilled out though, even after doing the one hundred, plank and push ups! There is definitely something about Pilates, lots of the Leicester Tigers players do various Pilates exercises during their pre-match warm up and I’ve been told that the All Blacks and the Welsh Rugby Union team also do Pilates too.

So I may not be running, but there is definitely no slacking going on here.

I have also recently started doing a workout at home on a Sunday morning, incorporating lots of the exercises we do in the classes I attend and using my 8kg kettlebell. It’s a great way to workout, especially if I haven’t been able to go to Step aerobics on Saturday morning. I have lollipop sticks with different exercises written on them and pull different ones out and see which workout I get. It makes every workout different.


This morning I switched things up and went to circuits. I haven’t been to a circuits class for ages and didn’t really know what to expect, apart from I was going to work hard! I walked in and was greeted by the sight of 3 box jumps. I did think about turning around and going home for a split second, but I like a challenge and I wasn’t going to be put off by this one. I have to say I really enjoyed circuits and will definitely be going again, I’m just trying to work out when I can fit it in. I managed to jump onto the green box and the orange, but I couldn’t quite get onto the red one. I gave it a good go though. I left with a massive smile on my face, knowing I had completed a good workout. Although I got home and really wished I could go for a run. But sadly I can’t just yet.


So that is what I’m doing every week. And I’m really enjoying it.

 

The next question is… How am I getting on with the 12 week transformation programme?

The short answer would be really well. But that doesn’t quite tell the whole story. We started the programme on 19th January, we were weighed and measured and we also did a fitness test. We then had our next weigh in and measurements night on 16th February and we redid the fitness test as well. We are tracking progress using all of these different methods.

My results are as follows:

19th January 16th February Difference
Body fat 42.9% 40.4% -2.5%
Weight 13st 8lbs 13st 1lb -7lbs
Chest 111cm 105cm -6cm
Waist 100cm 98.5cm -1.5cm
Hips 116cm 112cm -4cm
Right thigh 65cm 64cm -1cm
Left thigh 64cm 62cm -2cm
Right arm 32.5cm 29.5cm -3cm
Left arm 32cm 31.5cm -0.5cm

I literally couldn’t believe the difference in just a few weeks. I haven’t noticed a difference on the scales in a long time and I always used to forget to measure myself to track progress that way.

For the fitness test we did the following exercises for 50 secs with 10 secs rest in between:

19th January 16th February Difference
Squats 23 27 +4
Lunges 20 22 +2
Tricep dips 22 25 +3
V Sit 19 29 +10
Burpee 8 11 +3
Press Up 16 20 +4
Knee raises 54 55 +1
Side lunges 24 28 +4
Jacks 54 55 +1
Curl Ups 23 27 +4

There isn’t a huge difference in the numbers of each exercise that I did, however, there are small improvements and that is really good to see.

Overall I am making good progress and feeling amazing. I am still not sleeping that well, but that is one thing that I am working on. I am trying to get to bed earlier and I have been taking magnesium as that Is supposed to help with sleep. It is making a difference so far and I have had a few nights where I have slept the whole night through.

Eating wise, on the whole I have been following the list of foods we can/can’t have, however, there have been a few times where I have had chocolate, and that’s ok. This isn’t a diet, this is a lifestyle change and a way of feeling better and eating better, and there will be times where we do eat other things, and in the grand scheme of things it won’t make much difference. I went to watch Leicester Tigers on Friday night after work and had eaten a good breakfast which filled me up, had my lunch and also a smoothie as I knew I wouldn’t be able to eat until later than normal. I got to Leicester and the only place that was close to the ground that wasn’t crazy busy was Nandos. I had a Chicken Wrap and chips. I didn’t feel guilty and nor should I. I enjoyed it, I had planned that I wasn’t going to be eating what I have been from my plan and I chose something I wanted. I’m not sure what it was, but something upset my stomach the next day and I felt awful. But lots of water and a high protein breakfast and I felt much better. We have been told all along that if we can stick to the food side 80% of the time we will see results and that having something like my chicken wrap is ok.

img_7690
Post-Leicester Tigers Game – still smiling even though we lost!

Next weekend I am lucky enough to be going to watch England vs Scotland at Twickenham. I will be going on the train and I am planning to have a pint or two during the game. My plan is to have a good protein breakfast, take lunch with me, have lots of water the day before, the day of and the day after, and to do some exercise Friday night and Sunday morning. But I will be enjoying every sip of my beer and whatever I choose to eat at the rugby.

My body and my face are really changing.

My favourite things to eat are:

Breakfast casserole

Fry the turkey mince (or beef mince) in a frying pan, when cooked add a chicken stock cube, salt and pepper, mushrooms, peppers (anything you want) and fry until cooked, then tip into a ceramic dish and cover with 7 whisked eggs and put in the oven at 180 for 30-40 mins until the egg has set. Yum yum!

img_7711

Smoothie

Raw cacao powder, almond milk, avocado, blueberries, raspberries

Casserole

Diced beef or chicken, courgette, parsnip, aubergine, carrot, sweet potato, tinned tomatoes, onion stock cube.

img_7712

Nakked bar

Stoned dates, chopped hazelnuts, ground almond, raisins, desiccated coconut, raw cacao powder. Yum yum!!

img_7516

I’m looking forward to seeing how I get on in the next few weeks, to trying new recipes, and to the next step on my fitness and well-being journey.

 

Hope you are all well.

What changes are you making this year? Are you focusing on food and nutrition, strength training, speed work, cross training? Let me know in the comments.

Keep running, keep smiling.

K x

3 thoughts on “Feeling amazing, getting stronger

  1. Great work and your enjoying the process which is the most important thing. Well done you! And as for me, this is my year to focus on improving my running and doing the stuff I need to do, like core, rolling and pilates, in an effort to stay injury free!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

