Cross training…

Do you do it?

What I mean is, as well as running do you do anything else? Strength training, cycling, other cardio workouts, etc?  And do you think it benefits your running?

1340481947853_7670702

keep-calm-and-do-pilates-83Some of you may know that I love Step aerobics and Pilates. Two very different forms of exercise. Step aerobics is mainly a cardio workout but also helps with coordination, balance and works your legs (a lot!). Pilates on the other hand is more focused on strength training, balance and stretching. We do lots of core exercises in Pilates, but the whole body is targeted too. 60770018

I have noticed recently that I need to work more on my core strength and leg strength to help me become a better runner.

So in addition to Pilates and Step aerobics, I also now do kettlercise; an exercise class using kettlebells where we do each exercise for 1 minute along to music. I’ve been going to kettlercise for 7 weeks and really think it has made a huge difference. My legs feel stronger, my arms feel stronger and my core feels stronger.

IMG_5415 (1)

I still have a long way to go, but with each run and exercise class I am one step closer to my goal.

I am very lucky that I have found ways of exercising that I love and exercise classes with an amazing instructor.

I have realised that if you enjoy exercising then you work harder (often without realising).

So what I’m trying to say in a roundabout kinda way is try new things, you may think it’s not for me after one session, but you might also find that one thing you love, which in turn can benefit your running. You also don’t have to go to the gym to cross train.

Exercising doesn’t have to be a chore. I used to think that. This in turn made me less motivated to go to the gym. I just didn’t enjoy it; it wasn’t for me…

…But running and exercise classes are.

There’s no right or wrong way – find ways of exercising that make you happy. You’ll be more likely to stick at it and it become part of your daily routine and it will make you feel amazing.

Happy running (and cross training!)

K

X

One thought on “Cross training…

Leave a Reply

