2016…

…so it’s probably been a couple of months since I last wrote a post. That doesn’t mean I haven’t been running, far from it. I’ve just been busy with life and running and my blog has been slightly forgotten. I am so sorry – I will try to be better this year.
So 2015 was pretty amazing…

  1. I clocked up 175 miles (according to Garmin connect) since July. Which for a girl who couldn’t run half a mile when she started is awesome.
  2. I ran my first ever race, a 10k trail race with @andyjread he was so patient, kept pushing me, believing in me and somehow managed to get me to a new 10k pb (I’ve since broken that pb), even though I’m pretty sure I remember telling him I hated him (or maybe that was what I was thinking!) I definitely remember saying I didn’t ever want to run again (that was 22nd November) and I haven’t given up running, just the opposite.
  3. I have been lucky enough to have some amazing support on Twitter. Everyone who follows me on there is just fabulous. I have got to know some very special people and I cannot wait to meet them this year.

 

So what does 2016 hold?

To be honest, apart from running I have no idea. I have my first half marathon on March 13th which I am both excited and nervous about. I am raising money for the Matt Hampson Foundation. If you would like to sponsor me you can find my sponsorship page –>here<–.

I have also signed up for the Great Birmingham 10k on 1st May and Great Birmingham Run on 16th October.

I’m also hoping to do the Swansea Half Marathon and a 10k run with my sister and possibly one with my friend.

All this from a girl who used to hate running. Who used to think she couldn’t run. Who decided to do something totally out of her comfort zone and challenge herself to get into shape and run a half marathon in 9 and a half months. I’m pretty sure my friends and family thought I was mad and probably still do think that, but they also support me and encourage me.

2016 is a year for me to challenge myself, to achieve things I thought were impossible and to make myself proud. It’s a year where I’m going to focus on me. It’s a year where I’m going to just keep running.

So if you are reading this as a non-runner, and even if you are a runner, don’t doubt what you can achieve, always believe in you, work hard and be proud of your successes, celebrate your accomplishments, share your stories and knowledge with  others, inspire other people and always remember that you are an amazing individual with so much potential.

I never imagined the difference I would see in myself in just over 6 months. It’s pretty incredible. the photo on the left is from when i started running and the photo on the right is in the same top in the middle of December.

IMG_4913IMG_4914

I went for my first run of 2016 today – I didn’t really have much of a plan (I have written a plan, but it is flexible) I hadn’t decided whether I as going to do my 3 mile run or my 6 mile long slow run. I put on my running belt, made sure I took an energy gel with me just in case and put on some music. I had no plan of where I was running I just followed where my legs took me. It sure was a cold and windy one today and once again i forgot to take my running gloves with me! I have two pairs but still forget. My run felt good although I did get annoyed (inwardly) when people could see me running towards them, yet they decided not to move over (the polite thing to do) but instead forced me to run on the road (it’s an A road – which is very busy! not that it bothered them) another group of people forced me to make the decision of coming to a stop or running on the very muddy, very slippy grass. I don’t know if it is just me, but I always move over and if there isn’t enough room, I move onto the road to let runners past, but it seems that this doesn’t occur to everyone. I always without fail say thank you to every person that I run past who moves to let me past. Treat people how you want to be treated…

Anyway, enough of that… my first run of 2016 went with a bang. I ran 4 miles (I know neither distance from my plan – oops) in 48:50.4. So happy I was sub-50. And I also ran a new 5k PB. My 5K PB now stands at 37:28.8. I knocked 59 seconds off my previous PB from 20th December. To say I was happy would be an understatement! I’m so proud of how far I have come and excited about what is still to come…

In 2016 I hope you are all healthy and happy, but most important of all I hope that you are you (because you are pretty awesome).

 

Thank you all for reading and commenting.

Happy running

K x

I’m raising money for The Matt Hampson Foundation by taking part in 2016 Adidas Silverstone Half Marathon. If you would like to sponsor me visit http://www.virginmoneygiving.com/KimberleyMiles

To find out more about the Matt Hampson Foundation please visit: http://matthampsonfoundation.org/

4 thoughts on “2016…

Leave a Reply

