Running, running, running, running…. pilates and step

I know, I don’t write a blog post for a while and then I write two in a week. I really don’t mean to not write my blog, life just gets in the way sometimes, of writing and running.

If you read my previous blog post then you will remember how tough my run was on Monday. I really did feel like I had lost the ability to run. My head was telling me I couldn’t do it, I almost cried, my legs felt heavy and it was hard to get them moving when I started my second mile. I was feeling really worried about my upcoming 10K race and having a total confidence meltdown. I think that not running for over a week really affected me.

But what a difference a day and a mind set makes. The lovely people on twitter and my friends helped me to realise that it wasn’t all bad, I had been out for a run. And at times just lacing up your running shoes and getting out of the door is a challenge.

I got myself ready for my run on Wednesday morning and for the first time in a few weeks put on some music to listen to on my run. I set my watch on virtual pacer so I knew if I was starting my run off too fast. I wasn’t worried about a time or a fast mile, I wanted to see how far I could run if I was going at a consistent speed. The first mile my legs felt good, but going into the second mile my legs were screaming to stop, I felt sick and I had a stitch. The doubts started to creep in again, but I just kept pushing on, I kept my legs moving, I focused on my music and I kept telling myself to just keep going, And keep going I did. The second mile was by far the toughest and I still don’t quite know how I carried on. But I am glad I did. In the third mile I decided to tackle this bank which just seems to go on forever. I’ve run up it a few times before and wanted to see if I could do it today, with 2 miles of my run already gone. Guess what? I ran all the way up to the top. It wasn’t slow, it certainly wasn’t pretty but I did it. And when I reached the top I let out a YES! and gave a fist pump! I was so proud. I carried on and fought to get to 4 miles. My longest run for weeks. I was incredible proud of that run, of how I didn’t give in, how I fought through the doubts and didn’t stop until I had accomplished what I wanted to.

pre-run smile
pre-run smile
Post run smile
Post run smile

IMG_4526 IMG_4525

I had pilates on Wednesday night and once again my brain and body weren’t in communication! I found it almost impossible to move my legs and arms separately. I will get it one day. We do laugh though, we never take it too seriously. I do think it is helping with my running and it is definitely helping me to tone up.

My legs ached on Thursday, but they didn’t hurt anywhere near as much as after Step Mixx last week! I had a nice easy day and was looking forward to my next run.

I woke up Friday morning and I was determined to go for a run, I was excited to see what I could do today. I wanted to build on my run from Wednesday. I didn’t know how much my legs could do as they still felt achy but nothing, not even the rain would stop me from going out. I wasn’t sure if I was going running with my friend or not, so I left my run until the afternoon. My friend had hurt her foot and decided now to run, so I got myself ready, put on my new running belt and plugged my headphones in to listen to some new additions to my running playlist.

I headed out and didn’t really know what to expect. Right from the start it was tough. I was still using the virtual pacer on my watch trying to keep a consistent pace again. I fought most of the way through the first mile and really considered giving up. That’s what I used to do, give up when things got hard. But not now. I turned my music up a little louder, started to sing (in my head) and just kept putting one foot in front of the other. I hoped that the second mile would feel better, but it didn’t. My legs felt heavy and when I was running uphill I could definitely feel the burn. I had now decided to just keep going and get to 5k. It was getting darker and I wanted to finish my run, but wanted to get home before it got too dark. I kept going somehow, I dug in deep and made it to 5k. It wasn’t fast, it certainly wasn’t pretty, but it felt amazing to have had another good run. Tough, but good.

IMG_4572 IMG_4574

pre-run and post run! can you guess which is which?
pre-run and post run! can you guess which is which?

I woke up today and my legs surprising felt ok. I got ready and went to Step Mixx again. It was fab again – I loved it! Even though today I had a few coordination issues – at times I got my legs all mixed up! I also made my friend laugh. A lot. I am very clumsy and managed to trip up the ‘step’ (somehow I kept my balance and didn’t take anyone out!) and then we were going around the step, I misjudged where the step was and fell over it (once again I didn’t fall over) – what a total clutz! I knew it was going to happen at some point. I mean I can trip over thin air. It won’t put me off going though. It was definitely a good cardio workout and leg workout! I’m hoping my legs don’t hate me quite as much as they did last week, when walking was difficult on Sunday and Monday! I have a feeling this is going to be a positive thing for my running – improving my stamina (those moves and routines are fast!) and my coordination and leg strength. Really looking forward to next week!

I am going to the rugby tomorrow, so no more running for me until Monday – still debating whether I can run before or after school or whether I might have to go to the gym and run on the treadmill. I will keep you posted.

I hope you have all had a good week with your running and general life. Leave me a comment and let me know. Are you training for an event?

Thank you all for reading and commenting.

Happy running

K x

I’m raising money for The Matt Hampson Foundation by taking part in 2016 Adidas Silverstone Half Marathon. If you would like to sponsor me visit http://www.virginmoneygiving.com/KimberleyMiles

To find out more about the Matt Hampson Foundation please visit: http://matthampsonfoundation.org/

2 thoughts on “Running, running, running, running…. pilates and step

Leave a Reply

