Step mixx, Pilates and a little bit of running

I am so sorry that it has been so long since my last blog post. Time seems to have disappeared and honestly didn’t realised it has been so long since my last post.

There is no real reason for me not blogging more, apart from not running as often as I would have liked. Last week I caught a cold from the darling children at school and felt really awful with it, and as a result had no energy to run. My last run was on Saturday 17th October where I took my trail shoes out for a test run (tough!) and then went for a run with my friend where we managed 2 miles (really tough! On Sunday I camped on the sofa and by Monday I had a full blown cold).

IMG_4349IMG_3990

The only thing I did exercise-wise last week was Pilates. I am still loving going to Pilates and I’m definitely noticing a difference in my body and my balance and I think it helps with my running. The lovely lady who does the Pilates sessions is fab and we were having a giggle on Wednesday when I just couldn’t do opposite arm and opposite leg for some reason! The more I thought about it the more I couldn’t do it. I was, however, better at the balance exercises (who knew that would actually happen? I never did!) I love that we laugh and smile and Nicki makes us feel relaxed throughout. It’s one of the highlights of my week (and those of you who have been reading my blog for ages will know that when I went to Pilates somewhere else I didn’t like it at all!)

It got to Saturday morning and I was feeling better (and it was the start of half term!!) so I was planning to go for a run. Instead, my friend text me and asked if I wanted to try a step mix class with Nicki (who does Pilates). I hadn’t been to a step class before but thought why not give it a go. I am so glad that I did! It was hard, I sweat a lot, it was fast and there were some steps that my brain could just not get at 9.30am on a Saturday morning, but I loved it! I missed the step a couple of times and got really confused at times, but it was an amazing workout and lots of fun too! The group of ladies who were there were really friendly and encouraging. I am definitely going to make that a permanent fixture in my workout schedule.

IMG_4453 (1)

Quite soon after we got home my legs felt tight so I did some more stretches when I got home. I text my friend and she said that her legs felt ok. Step completely wiped me out so I didn’t go for a run. I had worked hard at step and it was chucking it down outside. I didn’t get to run on Sunday because I spent my day travelling to Leicester to watch Leicester Tigers vs Harlequins. But I did do a fair bit of walking instead and my calf muscles were so tight. It hurt to walk, go up and down the stairs. My friend text me and said her legs hurt too! I guess that means we gave our legs a pretty good workout at step!

IMG_4415 IMG_4469

My first run was yesterday 9 days after my last run. I wasn’t in the best of moods shall we say and as a result I was running emotionally and angry and annoyed. I was pushing as hard as I could, I wanted to see how far I could push myself before I gave up. It was like I was willing myself to give up, to prove that I couldn’t do it. I shouldn’t have gone for a run in that frame of mind, but it felt good to lace up my shoes and be back out there.

I ended up running my fastest ever mile – a sub 11 minute mile – 10:49.6 mins. After that it felt like I was struggling to breathe and it was like my legs had forgotten how to run. I managed to get myself walking until I got my breathing under control and then ran some more. I didn’t look at my watch apart from to see how fast my first mile was. I managed to carry on walk/run to 2.25 miles. It was tough, it wasn’t pretty and a thousand times I wanted to stop. I’m still not quite sure how I kept going that far. I had rolled my legs earlier in the morning (OMG it was even more painful than normal – there were a few tears in my eyes!) but my calf muscles still felt tight. I then walked just over 2 miles with my friend and goddaughter to have coffee and cake (well deserved!) I had another good stretch later hoping my legs would feel back to normal by this morning.

Mmmmmm cake - the healthy option. I mean it had fruit and nuts in it.
Mmmmmm cake – the healthy option. I mean it had fruit and nuts in it.

IMG_4473 IMG_4474

My legs aren’t totally back to normal, so I have another date with my foam roller (wish me luck!) and I am planning a run for tomorrow afternoon (as I’m looking after my favourite girl in the world tomorrow morning). My aim for tomorrow is to run at a more even pace and try to do about 4 or 5 miles. I also have Pilates in the evening which will be fab as normal. Let’s just hope my brain is working better this week!

My 10k with Andy is creeping closer and I am starting to get a little bit worried that I won’t be able to run the whole thing. I know I am probably just being silly, but I have 26 days before our race and at some point I need to fit in a 10k run just to prove to myself that I can do it.

Also, one of my friends, Jon, has just started writing his own running blog and I would be grateful if you could give his blog a read, comment and show him the support that you have shown me, because he is fab and very supportive to me.

Thank you all for reading and commenting.

Happy running

K x

I’m raising money for The Matt Hampson Foundation by taking part in 2016 Adidas Silverstone Half Marathon. If you would like to sponsor me visit http://www.virginmoneygiving.com/KimberleyMiles

To find out more about the Matt Hampson Foundation please visit: http://matthampsonfoundation.org/

4 thoughts on “Step mixx, Pilates and a little bit of running

Leave a Reply

