I’m in love with running…… a new PB, compression tights and hecklers

I have a confession…

When I started running I wanted to lose weight, I wanted to challenge myself and I wanted to be more active. I had decided I was going to start training and run a half marathon. That was it. I didn’t think I would like running. In fact I was pretty sure that I was going to only get through the half marathon through sheer determination not to disappoint people.

How wrong was I? You have all read about some of my challenges and tears over running, but I can honestly say that I am now totally in love with running! Yes, I know. Who would’ve thought it?

Why do I love running you may be wondering, well here goes:

  1. It makes me happy – I smile all the time, i feel good about myself, I like who I see in the mirror now.
  2. I have met some incredible friends through running, who support me and inspire me every day and are just amazing, awesome people.
  3. It has made me challenge myself
  4. I feel incredible – I feel fitter and stronger than ever.
  5. There is no feeling like the runner’s high you get after a run
  6. I get to have me time
  7. It is perfectly ok after a run to spend time lying on the floor or lying with your legs up the wall.
  8. Anyone can do it.
Smiling after a run! (lay on the floor!)
Smiling after a run! (lay on the floor!)

If any of you are reading this and are considering taking up running, do it! It will change your life. And if you aren’t on Twitter and you are a runner, I would seriously recommend joining and getting involved with talking to runners on there. You will find such amazing support and advice.

Running news…

I have been keeping up with my running now I am back at school, even though all I want to do when I get home is have a nap! I’m determined to keep this up – I have a 10k to get ready for!

I ran twice on Monday because it was way too hot when I first went out, so I split my 4.5 miles into 1 mile and 3.5 miles.I have another 4.5 miles to run later this week and I’m going to try my best to run as far as I can. I will keep you posted!

I also have a new 5K PB. I ran on Tuesday night after school and somehow smashed my 5K PB – the strange thing was I hadn’t even planned to try and get a PB. I’m pretty sure my new compression tights had something to do with it – I literally felt like I could do anything. My 5k PB now stands at 42:48.3 mins. It felt incredible when I realised it had happened and I had the biggest smile on my face for the rest of the evening. Total runners high.

IMG_3712 IMG_3711 IMG_3713

In other news…

I’ve also had the unfortunate experience of having 3 delightful individuals shouting things and beeping their horns at me when I was running. How do they think that this is acceptable behaviour? I mean seriously?? What is up with that? My particular favourite has to be “get them out”. When I first started running I think this would have upset me or annoyed me, but I realised that I couldn’t do anything about it and instead it spurred me on when I was running and I think I even carried on running for longer than I would have done.

Thank you for reading and commenting.

Happy running

K x

I’m raising money for The Matt Hampson Foundation by taking part in 2016 Adidas Silverstone Half Marathon. If you would like to sponsor me visit www.virginmoneygiving.com/KimberleyMiles

To find out more about the Matt Hampson Foundation please visit: http://matthampsonfoundation.org/

12 thoughts on “I’m in love with running…… a new PB, compression tights and hecklers

  1. I’m glad the heckles are spurring you on rather than making you feel bad. You should be feeling bad for them because they are such immature idiots!! Running has changed my life too for all the same reasons you state! Keep it up 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Are you sure they’re hecklers? I’m always so happy when I see people running when I’m driving. I want to encourage them….but how? Honking is the only thing I can think of. But I don’t do it b/c it would be misconstrued.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

