I ran in the rain…and I liked it! And I’m running a 10K in November :D

My Sunday morning run was so hard. My legs have never felt so heavy and achey. It felt like I was trying to run with lead weights for legs. I don’t even know why they were like this (maybe because I hadn’t used my foam roller). I managed to drag my legs using run/walk intervals, to complete 2 miles (including a steep incline I haven’t been able to run up before!). I still have no idea how I even made it 2 miles, but one thing for sure was the fact that my legs absolutely hated me. This could only mean one thing – a date with the evil foam roller. I had a really serious crisis of confidence after this run. the fact that it was so hard and my legs felt so heavy made me really doubt that I could do this. I know I was being silly and shouldn’t let one run make me feel like that. Twitter as always was a fabulous place of support and made me realise this.

I put it off all afternoon and the early evening, but eventually I knew that I had to stop being a wimp and start rolling. Yes it hurts (I mean who would ever think such an implement could inflict such pain?) but I’m pretty sure it does help. I had to roll my thighs/quads (ouch!), my hamstrings (a little ouch!) and then finally my calves (arghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!). I did have some of these Lindt chocolates (see below) to help with the pain (thanks to my mum! I’m pretty sure she felt sorry for me). With lots of owwwwwww’s, lots of funny faces and grimaces, tweeting and texting those who are only too aware of the pain of rolling, lots of lying on the floor and chocolates, I was able to suffer through the pain of rolling my legs and they felt better afterwards – not 100% but definitely not as bad as before. I did lots of stretches too and hoped that my legs would have forgiven me by the morning so I could go for my run.

Chocolate makes rolling a little better!
Chocolate makes rolling a littleΒ better
This is how I roll...
This is how I roll…
...and stretch
…and stretch
...and stretch some more. Point those toes.
…and stretch some more. Point those toes.

Monday morning came, and what do you know it was raining – well it is a Bank Holiday in the UK. That pretty much guarantees that it will rain. All day. I had woken up late and decided I would have an afternoon run. I was hoping that the rain would stop, but it wasn’t looking likely. I decided that if I didn’t go out soon, I would talk myself out of going just because it was raining. I had my porridge (with blueberries and raisins – yum yum!), a coffee and water and got myself ready to run. Today was going to be my first run in the rain. I was both looking forward to it but also dreading it! I got myself ready, popped in my earphones and stepped outside.

It was raining still, that drizzly type rain that gets you very wet, very quickly! I started my warm up walk and saw my goddaughter smiling and waving at me through the window. I’m pretty sure that put me in an even better mood than I was in already. I started running, trying to maintain an even pace and not go off too fast. I had finally worked out how to set the virtual pacer on my watch which is a really big help, even though the beeps are a little annoying at times! I ran 2.49 miles today, in the rain. I was totally drenched by the time I got back. But I enjoyed every second (almost!) of that run. There is something special about running in the rain. My legs felt better than they did yesterday (I’m sure the rolling helped) and I managed to run the majority of the 2.49 miles, even running the last little bit down my road pretty fast after seeing my sister drive past in the car! It’s funny what spurs you on isn’t it. I think today was the first time I smiled, properly smiled when I was running, there were still a few grimaces but definitely lots of smiles. And singing (not out loud, but singing nonetheless!).

It's raining, it's pouring...
It’s raining, it’s pouring…
Getting ready to run in the rain...
Getting ready to run in the rain…
Huge smiles after my run - red-faced and drenched!
Huge smiles after my run – red-faced and drenched!

My legs are definitely hurting now as I’m writing this blog post and I probably should have used my foam roller tonight, but I couldn’t face it! I will tomorrow though. Tomorrow is a rest day.

To sum up my August runs and everything running, there have been highs and lows, smiles and tears, pbs, 5ks, longest runs, getting to know some incredibly lovely, special people, challenging myself and signing up for a 10K race.

In one word august has been: FABULOUS!

I ran a total of: 33.58 miles in August, not including the miles I covered walking around Paris and without running for a week. I’m incredibly proud of this and cannot wait to run even further in September!

In other news…

I have signed up to run a 10k (my first 10k) on 22nd November! Talking to fellow running friends, I thought it would be a good idea to run a race before the big one, the Half Marathon in March. I wanted to get some kind of idea of what shape I am in getting closer to the Half Marathon. My friend Andy has signed up to run the 10k with me, so I have no doubt that I will make it all the way – even if he has to bribe me with Percy Pigs! It should be fun though – I’m hoping we will laugh our way round and if all else fails I’m pretty sure Andy will give me a piggy back! (or maybe not!)

I’m starting to see changes in how I look and I’m pretty sure I have lost a few inches. I am even starting to develop muscles in my arms (who knew!). This is me pre-run:

IMG_3583 FullSizeRender (5)

Really enjoying my running (most of the time), working hard, trying to be positive and hoping to keep improving.

Thank you all for coming on this journey with me! It really does mean a lot.

Happy running

K x

I’m raising money for The Matt Hampson Foundation by taking part in 2016 Adidas Silverstone Half Marathon. If you would like to sponsor me visit www.virginmoneygiving.com/KimberleyMiles

To find out more about the Matt Hampson Foundation please visit: http://matthampsonfoundation.org/

15 thoughts on “I ran in the rain…and I liked it! And I’m running a 10K in November :D

    • Thanks Viv. I just thought if I don’t do it now, I may never go out in the rain to run! and I’m so glad I just got out and ran! There is definitely only a certain amount of drenched you can get! πŸ˜€

      the 10k should be good fun.

      good luck with the GNR! You will be amazing xx

      Like

  1. Doing a 10k before a half is a great idea! I like to do that, although it didn’t work out for me this time around; it gets you excited, and also if your goal race doesn’t go well, you haven’t put all your eggs in one basket, so to speak.

    Running in the rain when it’s warm is nice. Running in a cold rain really sucks, though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I decided that I couldn’t keep putting it off and using the rain as an excuse because I may end up having to run the half marathon in the rain!

      I’m feeling really excited now about the 10k race. I think knowing that I’m running with a friend who will keep me motivated is going to really help my training for the 10k and marathon! xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

