Pilates last night was amazing… and I can now run 2 miles (yes all running!)

Wednesday morning came. It was one of my run days. I laced up my shoes and headed out for my run. I decided to run a route I hadn’t run for a while just to mix things up a little. Let’s just say my run didn’t go to plan at all! I only made it 0.5 miles before I had to head home. šŸ˜¦ The paths were really slippy after a rain shower and I manage to turn my ankle over when I decided to change direction at the last minute. I hobbled back home and iced my ankle. At least I didn’t do any serious damage! That was my biggest worry. I was also being a big wimp!

Icing my ankle - being a wimp!
Icing my ankle – being a wimp!

On Wednesday evening I had a Pilates class. Now if you have been reading my blog for a while, you will know that I didn’t really enjoy Pilates when I first went! That is possibly an understatement. As the sessions went by I enjoyed it more and I do think that it helped with my running. I decided to try a different Pilates class with a different instructor. What a difference it made.

Nicki, who is teaching the Pilates classes I am now going to is brilliant! She takes time to get to know everyone and their injuries or limitations, she suggests various ways to change the exercises we are doing, she enjoys what she is doing and as a result everyone else was enjoying it too (yes even when we were doing the plank and one arm push ups on our side!) and she makes you focus on you and what you are doing rather than comparing yourself to other people.

I came home from Pilates feeling absolutely amazing, and incredibly sleepy and relaxed. I had the best sleep I have had in a while too! I cannot wait for next week and think I am going to incorporate some of the Pilates exercises into my stretching routine.

If you haven’t tried Pilates I would definitely recommend it.

I woke up this morning after the longest sleep and decided I would go out for a run this afternoon for a change. I normally try to run in the morning, but once I go back to work I’m not always going to be able to run in the morning. My ankle felt good, although I could feel aches from Pilates – especially my arms! I guess that is a good pain though and shows that I worked those muscles last night!

I got myself ready, put in my earphones and off I went. I decided to follow my plan (for once!) and run 2 miles at a slower pace than I normally run. I was hoping that by slowing down I could keep myself going for 2 miles and wouldn’t have to stop to walk. This would be the furthest I have run (without walking) ever! I started off slower than normal – normally I think I am super speedy and set off at a pace I just cannot maintain at the moment and decided that I would try and maintain it for as far as I could. I navigated low hanging branches, overgrown brambles, stones, twigs and even a broom that someone had left out on the path – I am one of the clumsiest people ever, so I am surprised that I managed this! As I say I keep surprising myself šŸ™‚

My run was going really well and I was maintaining roughly the same pace throughout. I had to stop and wait for cars to cross the road, but apart from that I ran the whole 2 miles! The last quarter of a mile was so tough. My legs felt so heavy, I felt sick, i was trying to breathe deeply, I had a really dry mouth, but somehow I kept myself going. I kept telling myself “you can do this”, “you are strong”, “you’ve got this”, “just keep going”. I was trying not to think about my legs, I was trying to focus on my words and on the song that was currently playing on my ipod. It seemed like the longest 0.25 miles ever. But I did it!

I fought through the doubts in my mind, the heaviness in my legs, the sick feeling I had. I found something in myself that I didn’t know was there. A mental strength that seems to have come out of nowhere. A determination to make myself proud and silence all of the negative thoughts I have when I run. Nothing was going to stop me from running those 2 miles.

I think that run was my breakthrough run mentally. I am truly starting to believe in myself and believing what other people say to me. I am so incredibly proud of myself and literally cannot stop smiling.

Pre-run and post-run! Smiley and happy!
Pre-run and post-run! Smiley and happy!

I ran those 2 miles in 29:18 mins. My mile splits were:

Mile 1 – 14.27 mins

Mile 2 – 14.48 mins

FullSizeRender (1) FullSizeRender

I can honestly say I am looking forward to seeing what I can do on my next run! Feeling positive and feeling good!

I hope you have all had a good run today.

Thank you for reading and for the support, fab comments, the likes. It really means a lot and it makes a huge difference.

Happy running

K x

Iā€™m raising money for The Matt Hampson Foundation by taking part in 2016 Adidas Silverstone Half Marathon. If you would like to sponsor me visit www.virginmoneygiving.com/KimberleyMiles

To find out more about the Matt Hampson Foundation please visit: http://matthampsonfoundation.org/

2 thoughts on “Pilates last night was amazing… and I can now run 2 miles (yes all running!)

Leave a Reply

