I actually did a 5k and now have a PB! 

Sunday morning arrived and I didn’t just want to run, I felt like I needed to run. I had planned to go for my run on Saturday morning, but after having a lie in, I soon realised that it was warming up very quickly and by the time I was awake enough and had left enough time after my breakfast to run, it was way too hot. I’m not very good in the heat anyway, so the thought of trying to even run a mile in the heat was out of the question!

I did make the most of Saturday though by picking up a new long sleeved running top ready for the winter from Aldi!

IMG_3405

Back to Sunday morning and I felt like having had two days of not running I really needed to get back out there and run. I wanted to run. I needed to run. I didn’t set out with a plan in mind, apart from running as far as I could. It took my watch a while to find a signal and by that time I realised that my plan wasn’t really the best idea, but I started my watch and did just that; I ran. For some reason I thought I was speedy gonzalez and started off running quicker than normal. Instead of slowing down I just kept going at that pace (for too long). I eventually slowed down (a lot) when I could no longer sustain running at that speed (this is not by any means fast!), I don’t know what I was thinking, I was just running at that point and breathing very heavily.I somehow managed to keep my legs going to reach a mile.

I was so disappointed with my mile time – my third fastest ever mile. I should’ve been happy. But I just felt disappointed. And upset.

FullSizeRender (3)

I then walked until I reached the halfway point for a 5K. Somewhere along my run, in between all of my thoughts of “you are running too fast”, “your legs hurt”, “keep going”, “remember to say hello to that cyclist/runner”, “don’t fall over”, “don’t cry”, “you can do it” and so many more (why do I always think a lot when I run?), and singing along to my music, i had decided I was going to do a 5K. Run, walk, crawl, it didn’t matter. I was going to do a proper 5k recorded on my watch and I was going to finally have a 5k PB.

It was hard going and roughly halfway through my run the sun decided to come out and it became really hot. I was starting to struggle. I had run and walked past a few cyclists and runners, each of whom said hello or good morning and I replied with a smile (i hope it was a smile not a grimace) and hello. It’s amazing what a hello can do when you are running. It definitely gives me a boost to carry on for just a little bit longer. One man, when I was nearing the end of my run, said to me “keep going”, I kept thinking of that as I was trying to keep going with my running right to the end. I didn’t manage it, but I know his encouragement carried me on further than I would’ve gone.

After seeing on Twitter that people had had horrible things shouted at them on their runs, I feel pretty lucky to run along the streets in my village and receive lots of hellos and keep going or you are doing well, as I know it doesn’t always happen.

I ran/walked my first 5K in 49:07.70. I actually did it. It wasn’t fast, it wasn’t pretty, it wasn’t easy. It was tough. Really tough. And numerous times I thought I wouldn’t be able to do it. I could’ve turned around and stopped but I didn’t I carried on.

I got back home and felt like I had had an horrendous run. I was so hot and, if it was even possible, even more tomato red than ever before! I went straight to the shower and didn’t stretch. Possibly not my best idea!

I stretched after my shower and put on my compression socks; my legs felt pretty good considering I had just covered 5k! It was only when I walked up the stairs later in the afternoon that my right ankle started to hurt. I was really hoping that it was just a niggle and nothing to worry about. I really wanted to run on Monday. I elevated my leg and rested it for the rest of the night keeping my fingers crossed it would feel better in the morning. Sadly it did not but more on that later.IMG_3416

It took me a while to post my time on twitter, normally I post it right away (yes I am sad), normally I am pleased with my run. When I did post my time the response to it was incredible and I received some wonderful advice too. I’m hoping to get a sub-49 5k on my next attempt, I’m feeling optimistic.

IMG_3433 IMG_3432

I definitely need to work on looking at the positives rather than straight away going for the negatives. I need to stop sounding like a broken record. I need to believe in myself as much as other people believe in me. I need to be my own cheerleader. (and now I have started to sing the song Cheerleader by OMI – there is no hope for me!)

I also received a text from one of my friends from work. She asked if it was me running along the main road. I said yes it was me. Was I struggling? and she replied with “no I was impressed. headband as well go girl you looked good.”

This along with the Twitter support, totally turned my disappointment upside down and I realised that I am doing a good job. I am making huge progress. It totally made my day.

After that, I decided to make my door into my PB wall. I wanted to put it up my time somewhere so I could look at it and see how far I have come, remember the support, and need some inspiration for my next run. (I’m pretty sure from this photo you can guess what my job is!)

IMG_3438

I woke up this morning (I didn’t sleep very well) and even being lay down I could feel a slight pain in my ankle. I new I wasn’t going to be able to run. I didn’t want to risk making it worse. Not being able to run is so frustrating – especially when it’s forced upon you, rather than your choice. Instead of running, I spent the day with my leg elevated and my compression sock on, I did a few stretches and I went for a walk (I didn’t go far). I also took the time to update my running log in my Filofax and added my 5K PB to my Filofax. I’m really hoping I can run tomorrow. I’m not sure I can cope with another day of not running!

IMG_3443 IMG_3441 FullSizeRender (2)

Keep your fingers crossed that my ankle feels better tomorrow.

Take care my lovelies, happy running.

K x

I’m raising money for The Matt Hampson Foundation by taking part in 2016 Adidas Silverstone Half Marathon. If you would like to sponsor me visit www.virginmoneygiving.com/KimberleyMiles

To find out more about the Matt Hampson Foundation please visit: http://matthampsonfoundation.org/

Leave a Reply

