Current Favourite Workout Songs

Rebecca who blogs over at https://travelrunstyle.wordpress.com wrote a post about tunes and running, posting some of the songs which keep her going during a run and asking whether people listen to music or not when running.

I have only ever tried running without my headphones in once, following lots of replies to my twitter question of what to do when I had a stitch. People suggested running without my headphones so I could focus on my breathing. I found it even harder to focus on my running and found that it seemed to take much longer to run a mile without music. This is probably because I start to sing along to the music if it is a song I really like! So I think, for the time being at least, I will carry on running with my headphones in. This may change when I become confident in my running and run for fun and not for times and to train for the half marathon.

Rebecca replied to my comment on her post and said that she would like to hear some of my song choices that are in my running playlist. I decided to put all of my current favourite songs, plus songs from running songs CD compilations into a playlist to see how many song that would give me. I love music you see and what I like to hear very much depends on my current mood. I ended up with 985 songs, which was way too many. The first time I went for a run with this playlist I got so frustrated that I couldn’t find the song that I wanted to listen to. I decide that I needed to cut it down. I have kept that main playlist and from it I have selected 41 songs, which funnily enough lasts around 2 hrs 30 mins, the time I want to do my half marathon in. I’m going to post a list of the songs in my playlist (and hopefully find the youtube links for the videos). I have really varied taste in music and that is reflected in my playlist , which includes lots of the current chart songs alongside some classics and songs that just make me smile or want to dance. I think a playlist is quite personal and there is definitely not one size fits all, so to speak.

And so without further ado here is my current running playlist which I listen to on every run (obviously I only listen to a few of these each run!):

A Sky Full of Stars by Coldplay
ABC by Michael Jackson
Another Day by Jamie Lidell
Anything Could Happen by Ellie Goulding
Baby Baby Baby by Joss Stone
Back in Black by AC/DC
Beautiful Life by Union J
Black Magic by Little Mix
Can’t Get By Without you by The Real Thing
Cheerleader by OMI
Classic by MKTO
Ease On Down The Road by Diana Ross & Michael Jackson
Eye of the Tiger by Survivor
Give Me Everything (feat. Ne-Yo, Afrojack & Nayer) by Pitbull
Hall of Fame by The Script (feat. Will.i.am)
Highway to Hell by AC/DC
Hold My Hand by Jess Glynne
I Want you Back by Michael Jackson
If You Really Love Me by Stevie Wonder
Jealous by Nick Jonas
Let’s Go by Calvin Harris (Feat. Ne-Yo)
Loco In Acapulco by The Four Tops
Love Train by The O’Jays
Marvin Gaye by Charlie Puth (Feat. Meghan Trainor)
Not Letting Go by Tinie Tempah feat. Jess Glynne
Oh My Love by The Score
Play Hard by David Guetta (feat. Ne-Yo & Akon)
Rich Girl by Hall & Oates
Shake Senora by Pitbull (feat. T-Pain & Sean Paul)
Shine by Years & Years
Shut Up and Dance by Walk the Moon
Sir Duke by Stevie Wonder
Speed Limit by Boyce Avenue
Sweet Soul Music by The Overtones
Tell Me What We’re Gonna Do Now by Joss Stone
Time of Our Lives by Pitbull & Ne-Yo
We Found Love by Rihanna
We Own The Night by The Wanted
Wildfire by John Mayer
Wonder by Naughty Boy (feat. Emeli Sande)
You Make My Dreams by Hall & Oates

The songs in bold are some of the songs I play most during my runs.

As I post this blog the links are all working but as they link to youtube, some of the links may not work in the future.

Do you have any of these songs in your playlist?

What songs do you like to listen to when you run?

I love reading your comments and would love to hear some of your favourite running and workout songs.

Happy running

K x

15 thoughts on “Current Favourite Workout Songs

  1. I was going to say your taste was eclectic… But you just did! I have many of these songs too! Also like a bunch of these that you’ve listed that I’ve never heard before. Can’t wait to download them! (Thanks for the mention BTW).
    How do you listen to your tunes while you run? IPod? Phone?

    Liked by 1 person

    • aww thank you! it’s an odd mix but it works at the moment! I’m glad that there are some on there that you like enough to download. I love music so I’m always on the lookout for new songs.

      I have an old iPod mini which I have a bunch of songs on and then I have several playlists but only this one is used! it’s so hand as it clips onto my top so I have my hands free. xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. OK i’m definitely adding at least half of these to my running playlist. My favourite tunes at the moment are:
    Till I Collapse- Eminem – really good to pace to if you’re feeling entirely unenthusiastic
    I Don’t Get Tired – Kevin Gates
    Anything by Fuse ODG- but you have to be careful with pace as it’s very dancey and you can get carried away!

    I find the whole headphones debate really personal- it just depends on the runner! I go for music or a podcast for morning runs (ie. grumpy and half asleep) and then for most others I prefer no music, although it takes a while to getting used to having all your thoughts swimming around your head! My biggest tip, which I definitely didn’t follow for ages, is that if you go to a race, it’s really beneficial to run without headphones. Firstly there’s just so many people that it’s helpful to be alert, but more importantly you can get chatting away to people who are struggling along at the same pace as you. It’s such a boost.

    Aaaaand that turned into a rant. Sorry!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love your music choices!! I made the same mistake you did, which was too long a play list the first few times I ran. I cut it down significantly and it really helped too. Running without music would be torture for me. But, lately I notice I’m barely paying attention to the music – even turning it down so I can hear myself breathe. I think it is a good suggestion if you can manage it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you lovely! It was so hard to make a playlist with so few songs, but I think it really does help because now I’m not trying to search for a song I like.

      I’m definitely going to try running with it turned down just to see if it makes a difference as I do think I need to pay more attention to my breathing.

      Happy running lovely xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

