I pretty much ran the distance of a 5k and my foam roller is evil.

What a difference a day makes…

I woke up on Monday morning for my run and I was determined to somehow get myself further than 1.5 miles. It seemed like i had some sort of mental block that stopped me from pushing on. I ran the first mile and then decided to do walk/run for the second mile. I ended up doing 2 miles in total and I had finally managed to push beyond 1.5 miles. Ok, I didn’t run the whole way, but I was pretty please that I hadn’t given up when I started to feel sick. I want to get better. I want to enjoy running and I definitely don’t want to cry after a run. Unless they are happy tears!

I was hoping that by showing my brain that going beyond 1.5 miles and nothing bad happened would finally allow me to run that far. I’m pretty sure that sometimes it’s not my legs, but my mind that doesn’t allow me to go further.

My next run was on Wednesday morning. I really did not want to get out of bed and run. But eventually I put on my running stuff, knowing that it is never as bad when you are out there. It was really sunny and quite hot. I did another 1.5 miles and felt great afterwards. I ran my fastest ever mile in 13.30 mins. It’s not that fast, but I am so proud of that! Β Especially when i hadn’t really set out planning to do that. My legs hated me – I could hear them saying “why are you making me run?” and my glutes weren’t much better, they were saying “what the f are you doing to me?”. My brain was saying “well you’ve come out for a run now, you might as well just do a mile!” And so that mile ended up being the fastest. It probably helped that I spotted the postman when I was running and I was determined that I was not going to walk past him! It’s funny what spurs you on when you are running.

I arrived home after my run and shortly after this was delivered…

IMG_3355

Say hello to this evil contraption, also known as a foam roller. I had heard so may people talking about them on Twitter and it had been suggested that this could help with my tight calves. I also knew that it was likely to be a little bit painful. But I hadn’t quite realised HOW painful! I used the foam roller on my calves and almost cried! I then decided to use it on my quads which were aching – and in the process almost headbutted the table. It was going so well! I persevered but it really really hurts!! I’m still trying to think of a suitable name for the foam roller. We are definitely not going to be having a harmonious relationship. Ever!

IMG_3362
Say hello to my legs which are being subjected to the evil roller!!

This morning (Thursday) I woke up feeling quite determined. I was going to run a slightly different route and just see how far I could run. Now I don’t know if the foam roller had an impact on my running today or whether I have totally caught the running bug but I am incredibly proud of what I achieved today. I did a total of 3.09 miles, of which I walked roughly 0.3 miles. So I mostly ran! I did a total of 1.76 miles (only stopping when I had to cross the busy road twice) and then saw my nana, so i stopped for a couple of minutes to talk to her and then carried on running until I got to 2.08 miles. I could feel a slight burning sensation on one of my toes and knew I was getting a blister but I also wanted to run a bit more. I decided to go into my house and then did a running repair on my toe. I am such a wimp when it comes to blisters! I decided that I would do half a mile as fast as I could without stopping. I did my half mile in 6.16 mins and then I did another half mile of walk/run in 8.38 mins.

FullSizeRender IMG_3377 IMG_3376

That means today I basically did enough miles for a 5km run! That is definitely a massive improvement from my crying episode earlier in the week! I now just need to keep up with the miles and enjoy my running.

I had a totally different attitude to my run today and where I would normally have given up I dug in deep and carried on. I told myself that when I hit 1 mile I would turn back and see how much further I could run. I was aiming for 2 miles, but anything above 1.5 miles was going to be huge. I kept pushing and I did it. Today wasn’t a day for disappointment, I was incredibly proud of what I had achieved and there were almost tears again – but happy ones. It’s amazing what believing in yourself, and having other people believe in you can do. Running for me is as much a confidence thing as it is a fitness thing. I showed myself today that my legs have it in them to do at least 3 miles, it’s now believing that I can do it consistently, not being too hard on myself, enjoying my running and celebrating my successes.

I then came back and rolled using the evil roller and OMG it hurt even more than yesterday. I didn’t even know that was possible!! I can report though that I stayed away from the table – so didn’t almost headbutt it this time! I do hope that eventually the foam roller becomes my friend, but I’m not sure that will happen anytime soon!

Tomorrow is a rest day for me, although I would love to go for another run.

Take care my lovelies, happy running.

 

K x

 

I’m raising money for The Matt Hampson Foundation by taking part in 2016 Adidas Silverstone Half Marathon. If you would like to sponsor me visit www.virginmoneygiving.com/KimberleyMiles
 
To find out more about the Matt Hampson Foundation please visit: http://matthampsonfoundation.org/

15 thoughts on “I pretty much ran the distance of a 5k and my foam roller is evil.

  1. Go you! πŸ˜€ you got it done when it was tough! That’s great 😊 and that foam roller, I’m in a recent relationship with it, I’ve had it a month. It’s a beast. I love that it helps but by heck it’s painful! It will always be a love hate relationship πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much!! I’m not quite sure where it came from but I am so happy I did it!

      I do hope in time I will come to love the foam roller but I’m not so sure. I’m not sure which is worse the smooth roller or the nobbly one?! Have you noticed it helps?

      xx

      Like

  2. BRILLIANT!! Well done you. I enjoyed reading this post so much. It made me giggle in places, but also feel so glad for you. You didn’t give up when things got tough, and you’ve now done a 5K. (That roller looks evil, by the way.. πŸ˜‰ )

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I’m very proud of what I did today! I’m glad my post made you giggle – I’m trying to work out which bit! I don’t even try to be funny – I just type and whatever comes out comes out! I found something extra today that I didn’t know I had! 5k sounds totally mad!! The roller is evil!! pure, pain inflicting evilness! ;D xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

