Breakthough week! #Runmaniauk

So it turns out that this girl can run a mile and said mile can be run in under 14 minutes; in fact 13 minutes and 42 seconds. If you follow me on Twitter you are probably already aware of this from my tweets of total amazement. I cannot tell you how proud I am to have finally been able to run a whole mile without stopping. It’s a huge achievement for me! And what makes it even more special is the tweets that I have had from all of my lovely Twitter followers. I cannot thank you all enough – you encourage me, motivate me, answer my questions, offer advice, push me on when things are tough, make me see the positives and celebrate my successes, however small they may be. You are all totally awesome and I couldn’t do this without you!

Lot’s of you probably know @runmaniauk on Twitter. If you don’t and you are on Twitter please go and follow them. Right now. Runmaniauk are fabulous! One morning I did not want to get out of bed and run, which, of course I tweeted. I said I may go out for an afternoon run and runmaniauk said they would hold me to that. I did end up going out for a run and haven’t looked back since! They continue to retweet my questions, give me lots of advice, make me laugh (you still cannot fit in my suitcase! ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) and keep me motivated. A huge thank you Runmaniaukย – thank you for being awesome!

Now onto my running on Monday and today (I should be running Monday, Wednesday, Thursday and Saturday but I’m off on holiday – yay! so I have changed up my running days).

Monday was hard. I wanted to run a mile. One single mile. I wasn’t too bothered about the time, I just wanted to run the whole thing. I didn’t manage to run the whole mile – I made it to 0.83 miles and then felt so sick I had to slow down and walk. I did one mile in 14 mins 8 secs. I was pleased but also disappointed I didn’t make the whole mile running. Everyone on twitter was so fab and made me see what I had achieved.ย FullSizeRender (4)

I then decided that on my next run I was going to push harder and run the whole mile, hopefully under 14 minutes too! Tuesday morning came, I woke up with a spring in my step, put on my running stuff, turned on my ipod mini and set off outside to wait for my forerunner 15 to find a gps signal. I had some awesome songs come on throughout my run (I’m sure they helped me on my way! – Highway to hell by AC/DC, Tell me what we’re gonna do now by Joss Stone, Speed Limit by Boyce Avenue) and kept going until I heard my watch beep to say that i had done 1 mile. I completed my mile in 13 minutes and 42 seconds. I had to check my watch a few times to make sure that i wasn’t seeing things!.

You cannot imagine how proud I am to achieve what I had set out to do. I didn’t feel sick, I didn’t get a stitch and I even had to contend with my capri trouser things almost falling down! The lovely people of Twitter celebrated my success with me and I have favourited the lovely things that were said so I can always go back and reflect on them when I have a tough run.

FullSizeRender (3) FullSizeRender (2)

Onwards and upwards! Making progress every run!

Andy Runner Readย is now trying to talk me into running a full marathon too! We shall see. Never say never!

Keep on running and be happy and have fun!

K x

Iโ€™m raising money for The Matt Hampson Foundation by taking part in 2016 adidas Silverstone Half Marathon. If you would like to sponsor me visitย www.virginmoneygiving.com/KimberleyMiles

To find out more about the Matt Hampson Foundation please visit:ย http://matthampsonfoundation.org/

13 thoughts on “Breakthough week! #Runmaniauk

Leave a Reply

