Feeling fabulous…

I woke up at 7am, decided I really didn’t want to get up, and promptly went back to sleep. I woke up 2 hours later still not feeling like getting up and going for a run. My plan said I needed to go for a run but I wasn’t feeling it at all. I IMG_3220posted on twitter about not wanting to go and @runmaniauk replied saying ‘just think how you will feel when you’ve had that run’. My response was ‘very true! Maybe i’ll go for an afternoon run instead.’ Again @runmaniauk replied and said ‘we will hold you to that ;)’. Well after that how could I not go out for a walk/run?

So I got myself ready, put my pink knee-high running socks on with my padded running socks (since doing this I haven’t had a blister!), put my bright red Get Busy Living top on with my jogging bottoms and laced up my go run trainers (yes we are still running together even though I was ready to throw them in the bin!). I set my forerunner 15 to do walk/run intervals of 1:30 run/1:30 walk, put my earphones and turned on my music. Then off I went…

I ended up doing 1.45 miles around my village in 22.07 mins and did my fastest ever mile in 14.41 mins! It wasn’t fast, it certainly wasn’t pretty, but I am so glad that @runmaniauk gave me the motivation to go out and do it because I feel fabulous now!

FullSizeRender 1

 

I got home and I was a hot, sweaty, tomato red, tired mess, but very very happy!
I then decided to do 10km on the exercise bike at home to finish off and did 10km in 20.29 mins. FullSizeRender (2)

 
 
Overall a fantastic day for me. I don’t think I want to run on a treadmill ever again!

This comes after a fairly awful first walk/run on Saturday where I started to run too fast up a slight incline and that then meant I had an awful stitch and my breathing was off and it was hard to do much more running.

My friends suggested going back to timed intervals and I am so glad i took the advice they gave – thank you Gill, Rindo, Jessica, Ashley and Viv (who has her own running blog – just click on her name).

If you are struggling for motivation and you are on twitter there are so many amazingly supportive, inspirational and motivational people on there who give you words of encouragement and keep you going when things feel hard.

Keep running and remember you are doing fabulously!

K x

I’m raising money for The Matt Hampson Foundation by taking part in 2016 adidas Silverstone Half Marathon. If you would like to sponsor me visit www.virginmoneygiving.com/KimberleyMiles

To find out more about the Matt Hampson Foundation please visit: http://matthampsonfoundation.org/

4 thoughts on “Feeling fabulous…

  1. Glad you eventually went for that run! The idea of a run always sounds good to me but putting on my shoes and going out can be hard sometimes. I lose my motivation. But thinking about how I will feel after is a good strategy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

