So tired I could sleep standing up but I still went to the gym

After a day at work running around after 22 little ones and a terrible nights sleep, all I wanted to do when I got home from work was sit on the sofa and have a map. I did not want to go to the gym. But I went anyway – it was hard but I got through it and with every workout I am making steps towards my half marathon in March.

I upped my jogging/running to 90 seconds with walking intervals of 2 minutes. It doesn’t sound like a big increase but I found myself struggling for the last 15 seconds or jogging/running but I pushed through it. I clocked up 1.8 miles/2.89km of walk/run with a cool down and warm up. It isn’t much but it’s a start! And it’s more than I managed last time I did a walk/run.

I managed this with tight calves too! I think pilates on Friday night, followed by 3 miles on the cross trainer on Saturday morning was a bad idea. Add to that the fact that I probably didn’t stretch properly and you get very tight, stiff calves on Sunday! That made getting up and down the stairs a mission!

Thank you to the lovely people of Twitter and @Ukrunchat for helping with suggestions of how to relieve tight calves and stretches to do as well. Twitter is such a fab place to get information from experienced runners and is full of stories, quotes and people who motivate you. Definitely check it out if you need help or motivation.

This morning I found my indoor skipping rope so I may add a quick skip to my morning routine.

Let’s do this.

Have a lovely evening. Until next time.

K x

I’m raising money for The Matt Hampson Foundation by taking part in 2016 adidas Silverstone Half Marathon. If you would like to sponsor me visit www.virginmoneygiving.com/KimberleyMiles

Leave a Reply

