I did it…

Today I signed myself up to run the Silverstone Half Marathon in March 2016. Yes I may be slightly mad, but I have roughly 9-10 months to get into shape and I have the determination to do this, even when some people are sceptical. I am excited to start this journey and see what I can do when I challenge myself.

I did my workout again last night and consequently have two huge blisters but they say no pain, no gain, so I carried on and finished my workout even though it hurt! I’m not sure if I need to just wear in my new running shoes, or whether it is the style of them that doesn’t suit my feet. I might try some different running shoes for my next workout.

The amazing trainer at my gym is now putting together a workout plan for me so I can get into shape for the half marathon next year and hopefully beat my target time of 3 hours. I know it’s not the quickest time, but I want to set a realistic target that I can achieve.

Tomorrow night is Pilates night. I’m not the most flexible or coordinated person in the world so we shall see how that goes!

Have you run 5k, 10k, half marathon, marathon? What advice would you give a beginner?

K x

I’m raising money for The Matt Hampson Foundation by taking part in 2016 adidas Silverstone Half Marathon. If you would like to sponsor me visit www.virginmoneygiving.com/KimberleyMiles

2 thoughts on “I did it…

  1. Good luck with your training journey! Sounds weird… but what kind of socks do you wear, cause that could be contributing too/ worsening your blisters as well as your shoes. Make sure you get proper trainer socks that are a bit thicker than normal socks. Some also have extra padding around the heel and things which I like as thats where my shoes mostly rub. Just a thought 🙂

    Like

    • Hi 🙂

      thank you! Do you know I hadn’t even thought about my socks – I will definitely look at getting some proper running socks which will hopefully help. Any tips or help is very gratefully received as I am still very very new to all of this!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

