I got up off that couch…

Hi everyone,

I hope you have all had a good day.

I am writing my first blog post, after my first workout at the gym in almost a year. I am not going to say it was easy – it really wasn’t! (stitches are not fun – the pain!) But I feel so proud of myself for actually getting back to the gym and accomplishing what I wanted to tonight and a little bit more. Our bodies and minds are amazing.

Tonight I went on the crosstrainer for 1km as a warm up and then I did the first day of couch to 5k using an app on my phone. I used an incline of 1% (because I remember being told that you should always run on an incline on a treadmill) and alternated between walking at 4.5kmph and jogging/running at 9kmph. I felt so good when I started but when it got to set 6 of the walk/jog sequence I had an awful stitch. The old me would have given up and just walked for the rest of the time, but I dug in and kept following the walk/run cycle and finished it. It wasn’t pretty, it wasn’t easy, but I finished it. I completed 2.77km in total and could not be prouder of myself. I am strong, I can achieve things and I am taking the first step on my journey to 5k and beyond.

If I can do it you can do it, you don’t have to run, making small changes and being more active in your day can be your first step. Everyone is different.

I would love to read your comments, so please feel free to comment, ask questions etc below.

Thank you for being part of my journey. It’s going to be a hell of a ride (or run!)

K x

I’m raising money for The Matt Hampson Foundation by taking part in 2016 adidas Silverstone Half Marathon. If you would like to sponsor me visit www.virginmoneygiving.com/KimberleyMiles

Leave a Reply

